Faculty Awards

The Distinguished Faculty Award

Established in 1969, the Distinguished Faculty Award is the highest honor that John Carroll University can bestow on a member of its faculty. It is presented annually to a full-time faculty member selected by the University community for excellence in classroom teaching, scholarship, advisement and leadership of students, and community concern. The individual chosen to receive the award receives a cash prize and an engraved plaque presented at commencement ceremonies. Holders of the award since 2008 have been:

2010 Dr. Elizabeth v. Swenson 2015 Dr. Susan Orpett Long
2011 Dr. John S. McBratney 2016 Dr. Jeffrey Johansen
2012 Dr. Brenda Wirkus 2017 Dr. Daniel W. Palmer
2013 Dr. Anne Kugler 2018 Dr. Denise Ben-Porath
2014 Dr. Jacqueline J. Schmidt    

Lucrezia Culicchia Award for Teaching Excellence

The Lucrezia Culicchia Award, established to recognize teaching excellence, is awarded annually to a member of the faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences. Culicchia awardees since 2008 have been:

2010 Dr. K. Julia Karolle-Berg 2015 Dr. Paul Nietupski
2011 Dr. Michael A. Nichols 2016 Dr. Debra Rosenthal
2012 Dr. Philip J. Metres, III 2017 Dr. Yuh-Cherng Chai
2013 Dr. Mindy Peden 2018 Dr. Kristen Ehrhardt
2014 Dr. Carl Anthony 2019  

Wasmer Outstanding Teaching Award

The Wasmer Award, established to recognize teaching excellence, is awarded annually to a member of the faculty of the Boler College of Business. Recipients since 2008 have been:

2008 Dr. Andrew M. Welki 2013 Dr. Scott Allen
2009 Dr. Lindsay N. Calkins 2014 Dr. Thomas Zlatoper
2010 Dr. Paul Murphy, Jr. 2015 Dr. Rosanna F. Miguel
2011 Dr. Frank J. Navratil 2016 Dr. Albert L. Nagy
2012 Dr. Robert Bloom 2017 Dr. Frank Navritil

George E. Grauel Faculty Fellowships

To encourage research and writing, the University annually awards faculty fellowships providing leave for work on special projects. The fellowships honor the memory of Dr. George E. Grauel, who served John Carroll from 1933 until his death in 1967. Dr. Grauel was professor of English, dean of the Evening College, and director of Institutional Planning. Recipients of fellowships for 2016-17 and 2017-18 are:


 Dr. Leslie Curtis  Dr. Malia McAndrew
 Dr. Alison Dachner  Dr. Kristen Tobey
 Dr. Marcus Gallo  Dr. Pamela Vanderzalm
 Dr. Erin Johnson  Dr. Feng Zhan
 Dr. Maria Marsilli  Dr. Jeffrey Johansen


Curtis W. Miles Faculty Award for Community Service

The Miles Award recognizes a member of the faculty for distinguished community service consistent with the mission and goals of John Carroll University. Originally established in 1992, the award was revived in 2005. Recipients since 2008 have been:

2009 Dr. Ruth Fenske 2014 Dr. Tracy Masterson
2010 Dr. Paul Britton 2015 Dr. Erin Johnson
2011 Dr. Brent Brossmann 2016 Dr. Phyllis Braudy Harris
2012 Dr. Gloria Vaquera 2017 Dr. Thomas Bonda
2013 Dr. Linda Seiter 2018 Dr. James Lissemore